Communion Of Dreams


“My name is Lisa.”
December 18, 2007, 7:46 am
Filed under: Alzheimer's, Health, Hospice, movies, Society, YouTube

Yesterday was dreadful.

I don’t know what happened to trigger it, but it was one of the worst days that my MIL has had in a while. At least since this day. And this time it manifested itself as a constant need for reassurance. As I told a friend in an email:

Ugh. Not with the ongoing problems with MMIL. It can take me 20 minutes to get her to settle down, only to have her get wound back up about something ten minutes later. Needless to say, I’ve accomplished almost nothing today.

I literally spent at least half the day just sitting and talking with her, doing my best to help her remain calm and not obsess over contacting her parents or going “back to school”. Even with all my experience and what I’ve learned about distracting her and redirecting her attention, it was an almost constant battle.

And in the middle of it, I got an email from another friend with a link to this video:

That’s basically the last six years of my life compressed into six minutes. You want to have some idea what it is like to be a care-provider for someone with Alzheimer’s or other age-related dementia? Watch it.

Jim Downey

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We used to lock up people who had dementia. Many people take their family members to a facility, and let them deal with it. I just can’t begin to express the extreme fortitude it must take to do this and not loose one’s own mind.

Comment by Tim

Big assumption there, Tim. 😉

With all that I have written about this, I think most people will get more from that short vid. It is extremely well done, capturing the transition which occurs from simple absent-mindedness to an almost complete dissociation from reality.

And in all seriousness, the mental strain is very tough – and I don’t always manage it as well as I perhaps could. But that is the way of it, and you just do the best you can.

Jim D.

Comment by Communion of Dreams

Wow – that’s about sad. Thanks for sharing the video and … for writing about all this.

Comment by Brian




Leave a Reply

