Communion Of Dreams


Bits and pieces.

I find it odd, but somehow telling, that the obit for my MIL has gotten the most hits of anything I’ve posted here previously, and as a result I’ve hit a new “best day” for the blog today. Ah, well.

The newspaper coverage of her passing can be found here and here.

* * * * * * *

And that’s not the only news about us. In a strange twist, the same issue of the Tribune which contains Martha Sr.’s obituary also has this piece about this year’s Notable Historic Properties. Which includes our home (second from bottom on that page.)

* * * * * * *

While I was being preoccupied with caring for Martha Sr. in her final days, there seems to have been a burst of activity with the novel. I don’t know if someone posted it to some websites or what, but in the last week almost 500 people have downloaded the thing. If anyone knows what is behind this, drop me a note or leave a comment if you would be so kind. Oh, that pushes the total downloads over 7,000 – thanks, everyone!

* * * * * * *

Got this very nice note from someone who had just downloaded the book and started reading it. ‘Rich’ said:

Thanks for making your SF novel available. I am now in the middle, and you’ve REALLY got my interest. This is a good thing.

I have only noticed 2 very minor technical things that I think most people would not notice, but being an engineer and trained in physical sciences, I saw them.

In the first description of the airlock on Titan, using water to wash off tholin dust would be difficult as you have described it. If the Titan atmosphere were pumped out to a vacuum, liquid water would boil off instantly, unless there were another replacement atmosphere first.

When Jon first breathes the air inside Darnell’s dome, “the usual sharp whiff of methane” – Methane is odorless, needing to have mercaptans added so we can smell it.

Like I said, these are small details, and do not detract from my enjoyment of the story.

D’oh! My response:

Well, thanks! The first can be easily changed with a tweak to the description (which is what I actually envisioned – the new ‘Earth normal’ atmo being pumped in first, then things flushed with a water rinse), but I didn’t know that methane was odorless. Huh. Silly me – it’s the same as ‘natural gas’, isn’t it?

No worries, I can tweak that by giving the tholin precipitate some kind of smell, and rejigger the text to reflect that. But I would not have caught it without your help.

See, kids – you write me, you’ll get a real, personal response! Well, sooner or later. Just because the novel has now been downloaded 7,000 times and I’m well on my way to becoming a famous and fabulously wealthy author, doesn’t mean I won’t answer my email . . .

* * * * * * *

And, lastly, thanks again to all who have commented or sent messages about Martha Sr.’s passing. It has been much appreciated by us.

Best,

Jim Downey

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I find it odd, but somehow telling, that the obit for my MIL has gotten the most hits of anything I’ve posted here previously, and as a result I’ve hit a new “best day” for the blog today. Ah, well.

One reason for that may be the links you’ve posted elsewhere, simply saying “it’s been a bad week,” so that people click the link to find out what’s been so bad about it.

Continuing to send thoughts, prayers, and {{{HUGS}}} your way. Hope that next week you can start to decompress a bit.

Comment by ML

Thanks, ML. Guilty as charged. Of course, as much as I have referenced or talked about caring for Martha Sr elsewhere, I thought it only appropriate to let people know that her life had come to a conclusion.

Jim D.

Comment by Communion of Dreams

Oh, I agree with that. And you know what the link was about, and those of us already in the know knew – but just saying it was a rough week could have been almost anything, especially with the weather in the last few days.

Don’t think it’s YMIL’s passing that’s the only attractor – and who knows, maybe some of the people who linked over also downloaded your book.

Comment by ML

[…] setup, just can’t keep up when the temps get down to below zero Fahrenheit.  Not in an old house with minimal insulation (and no simple way of adding any).  So we wander around, playing Quintet, […]

Pingback by This (c)old house. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] house is about 130 years old. It has a narrow central staircase off the kitchen which leads to the second floor, making three […]

Pingback by “An abnormally excitable way.” « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

