Communion Of Dreams


Better.
August 26, 2010, 10:03 am
Filed under: Ballistics, Gardening, Guns, Habanero, Health, Publishing, Writing stuff

OK, it’s been a while. But not due to anything bad.

First, I am feeling a lot better. I’ve communicated with my doc, and it looks like the last round of antibiotics finally did the trick with the pneumonia. I still have some recovery to do – minor lung pain and whatnot – but I am at least sleeping normally again and have a lot more energy. Now I just have to ease back into getting decent exercise and enough rest, and then I can start on making up for all the stuff that didn’t get done in the last month.

Second, we did another round of ballistics testing this week, focused primarily on a bunch of new ammo types in the very popular .380 caliber. Got some interesting results – more on all of that, later.

Third, got a rejection from the agent who had expressed initial interest in the care giving book. Here’s what she said:

This needs a lot of work. By “this” I mean both the proposal, which is really dry, and the material, which is uneven because of your source material. You need to put more effort into using the source material to tell a story, not sticking it into chapters and relying on it as the primary storytelling device.

Which tells me that she completely didn’t “get” the whole idea of the book. I don’t usually dismiss out of hand any criticism, but I also have enough sense to not over-react to the first response I get. We will continue to look elsewhere for someone else who may be interested in representing the book.

Lastly, got the first harvest of Red Savina habaneros out of the garden. Last night prepped and dried about two dozen. Here’s a pic of them before they went into the oven:

And here they are when I took them out this morning:

Once dried, turned them into about 3 ounces of delicious nuclear-powered spice. Yay!

So, things continue. Now I need to do a bit of yard work.

Jim Downey

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

