Communion Of Dreams


Constant vigilance!
October 26, 2010, 10:41 am
Filed under: Harry Potter, Health, Preparedness, Publishing

As I sipped my first cup of coffee, Alwyn (my dog) came up and sat down next to me, tail wagging vigorously on the carpet.

I had just let him in a few moments previously. “What is it, bud? You want to go back outside?”

He bolted for the door.

I followed, let him out into the yard.

* * * * * * *

I walked into the bedroom, still damp around the edges from my shower.

The window was open, and there was a stiff breeze coming through. Temps outside were only about 54 degrees, so it was quite crisp.

But the first thing I did, in spite of the cold, was not to put on some clothes. Instead, I checked my phone to see if there had been a call while I was in the shower.

* * * * * * *

My friend’s email was to the point: if something happened, and the publisher with whom I am negotiating for publication of Communion of Dreams went out of business, I needed to have it clear that all my rights under the contract would automatically revert to me.

I thought that was a given, since if one party in the contract no longer existed, then the contract be would null and void. But I’m not an attorney. I included a note about the matter in my email to the publisher.

* * * * * * *

Alwyn ran off to the side of the yard, looking up. In the thin morning light, I could see a raccoon, caught in a tree.

Alwyn ran back and forth, looking up. The raccoon climbed higher.

Thing was, the tree he was in was on the other side of the fence. Alwyn couldn’t touch him if he came down and sauntered off.

But the raccoon didn’t know that.

* * * * * * *

I’m still waiting.

I’m still waiting for a phone call, or an email, from my doctor’s office, with some information about the results of the CAT scan I had on Friday.

I hate waiting.

I particularly hate waiting when I feel worse day by day. The right side of my chest hurts more. I now get a bit short of breath just standing or doing *anything*. I’ve started to experience moments of light-headedness.

I’m hoping that I’m on the other side of the fence, able to just walk away from the threat.

But I fear the dog below.

Jim Downey

Update: I have an appointment to see my doc tomorrow morning, 9:15. CAT scan is “basically normal”. So now I wonder what we do.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

*sigh* Waiting sucks. Hope you get to walk away unscathed.

Comment by S.B. Rowland

[…] I’m hoping I have something similar happen to my current situation. […]

Pingback by It’s a mystery. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

