Communion Of Dreams


All systems are “Go.”
March 9, 2011, 12:18 pm
Filed under: Alzheimer's, Publishing, Writing stuff

So, the discussion has been had. Information has been gathered. Tactics and strategies have been considered. Preliminary schedules have been drawn up. Problems anticipated. Pros and cons debated.

We’re going to do it. We’re going to publish Her Final Year ourselves.

Or, more accurately, we’re going to form our own publishing group, and publish it under the auspices of that organization. Fortunately, in this day and age the actual mechanisms for doing so are already in place and do not require massive investment in plant and equipment.

I won’t trouble going into detail. But we hope to have the book ready by this summer. Wish us luck – there’s a lot of work ahead.

A first component of this will be getting some “beta” readers – I need several people who are willing to completely read the manuscript, tell me whether the book “works” for you or not. I am not asking for editing – just general feedback (we can discuss this further). I would need this feedback in the next couple of weeks in order for it to be of use. If you are willing, and agree to not pass any portion of the book on to anyone else, please contact me directly – I will send you a pdf version of the book. And when the final version goes to press, you will be thanked in the acknowledgments and sent your choice of an e-version or hardcopy version of the book.

Exciting, eh? I’ll probably post here about different aspects of the whole process.

Jim Downey

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ll read it.

Comment by Sarah CD

I have read at least 35 books on AD and AD caregiving. Was in support group with your Martha (the good lady wife) would be happy to read your book. Plan to buy it anyway.

Comment by Patty Gibbs

[…] The editing continues. I’m making real progress with it, should be done in another week or so. Preliminary feedback from the ‘beta readers’ is positive. […]

Pingback by “17 billion hours of unpaid care.” « Communion Of Dreams

[…] and his wife to tighten up some passage. I’m still waiting to hear back from the ‘beta readers‘ whether there are major problems from their perspective, but I am generally very pleased […]

Pingback by Almost finished. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] I voted to go the self-publishing/e-publishing route with our care-giving memoir, I did so fully aware of all the pros and cons (in large part thanks to […]

Pingback by “Yeah, but . . . “ « Communion Of Dreams

[…] news is that yesterday we filed the paperwork with the Missouri Secretary of State to form “HFY Publishing, LLC.” Yeah, on April Fools Day. Seemed […]

Pingback by Documenting. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] wife and I were taking care of her mom. Since all of that material has been transferred over to the Care-Giving book, and I have been working with it extensively for the last year, I figured I’d know exactly […]

Pingback by Curious coincidence. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] round of testing, which will start this weekend. I’ve also been more than a bit busy with another project of my […]

Pingback by “We can make it bigger. Faster. With more data. We can make it… « Ballistics by the inch

[…] of Dreams is actually going to be published. I’ll worry about it after I see to getting Her Final Year out. Some things I can control with brainwaves (indirectly), some things I […]

Pingback by “You must think in Cat.”* « Communion Of Dreams

[…] had been doing research into the e-reader in preparation for publishing Her Final Year and part of that preparation was going out and playing with the latest version of the Kindle at a […]

Pingback by The future is indeed here. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] written and sent to guns.com. But the most important and time-consuming task has been working on Her Final Year. As I noted on my Facebook page: 97,982. That’s how many words are in the main care-giving […]

Pingback by Whew. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] work here and there. But yeah, the vast majority of time and energy has gone into working on Her Final Year, the care-giving […]

Pingback by Wait, where did the last two months go? « Communion Of Dreams

[…] work here and there. But yeah, the vast majority of time and energy has gone into working on Her Final Year, the care-giving […]

Pingback by Wait, where did the last two months go? « Ballistics by the inch

[…] just finished proof-reading Her Final Year. This is the version formatted for print-on-demand, so it was a painstakingly close look to make […]

Pingback by Endings, and beginnings. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] on all of this, once I’m not entirely preoccupied with getting Her Final Year […]

Pingback by *sigh* « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

