Communion Of Dreams


Curious coincidence.
April 24, 2011, 4:34 pm
Filed under: Alzheimer's, Publishing, Writing stuff

Got a call from an old friend this morning. We talk pretty often. After chatting for a bit, he asked me if I could send him something I had written back when my wife and I were taking care of her mom. Since all of that material has been transferred over to the Care-Giving book, and I have been working with it extensively for the last year, I figured I’d know exactly what piece he was talking about and would be able to send him the relevant excerpt immediately.

“Sure,” I said. “What was it about?”

“Oh, about you losing your temper, yelling at Martha Sr. I know someone who is a care-giver, and this just happened to her. I thought that piece of yours would help give her some perspective.”

Hmm. It rang a bell, but I couldn’t identify it immediately. Still, I figured I’d figure it out after I got off the phone, and said “Yeah, sure, I’ll track it down and pass it along.”

We finished our chat, and I started poking through the manuscript, which is basically finished, just getting some formatting tweaks worked out.

And poked. And poked some more.

Nothing. Yet, my recollection of the blog post was becoming stronger. I knew I had written the piece he was talking about. But I couldn’t recall exactly which one it was in the book.

I decided to try a search through my blog posts. I now have almost 1100 posts, over 4 years, but I had an idea about when it had to have run, and after a few minutes tracked it down.

It was this one: I am not a saint.

I went back to the book. Searched for that post.

It wasn’t there.

That’s very odd. I re-read the blog post. Yeah, it is embarrassing, but no more so than a lot of the stuff in the book. And more importantly, it is *exactly* the kind of thing we want to share with others – because it is a very normal and human reaction. Now that it has been brought to my attention, we’ll get it edited and integrated into the book.

But what a curious coincidence – to have a friend think of the one post from almost 4 years ago that I had managed to skip over in the process of collecting and editing Her Final Year.

Curious, indeed.

Jim Downey

With a thanks to my friend Jerry for helping make the book more complete.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

