Communion Of Dreams


To a Mouse.*

A good friend was visiting last weekend. We see each other fairly often, communicate regularly. But there are things best discussed in person.

“How’s your mom doing?”

“Not bad. I think we’re getting to the point where we need to have that conversation about her driving.”

“Ah. That’s a hard one.”

“Yeah. But my sister largely drives her everywhere as it is, anyway. So that will make it easier.”

* * * * * * *

I mentioned a week ago that I was surprised that Her Final Year hasn’t done better.

Well, I had been waiting for a couple of additional pieces to appear in different publications in the hopes that would spur awareness of the book, as well as sales. One of those being my college alumni magazine. Yesterday I saw that they had posted the Fall 2011 issue as a .pdf on their website, so I took a look.

It’s a blurb, not a review. You can find it at the bottom of page 39, if you want. Next to another book blurb, and one of about a dozen in this issue. My fellow alumni are intelligent, accomplished people.

* * * * * * *

After discovering that, I went out to pick tomatoes from my garden. The very wet summer we had meant that there was a big delay in a bunch of the tomato plants blooming and setting fruit. But I am lucky, since many people I know have had a horrible year for tomatoes, while mine were just delayed.

I was able to pick about 25 pounds of tomatoes, a nice mix of Lemon Boy and Brandywine and Black Prince and Better Boy. Most look great, have a wonderful taste. We had some with BLTs last night for dinner, and I made up two quarts of sauce from the ones with slight blemishes. I’ll probably go ahead and can or sauce the rest in the next day or two.

But I didn’t get to picking them for about two hours, because first I had to completely re-do the netting around the garden (about 40×50). Deer had gotten in, then tore the hell out of everything getting out.

Yeah, they munched on the tomato plants, and that was annoying. But they also ate the tops out of my habanero plants. Well, not all of them. Just the ones which had done the best.

See, as bad as the summer was on tomatoes, it was worse on the habaneros. They just started setting fruit a couple of weeks ago. And it was a race to see whether any of the pods ripened fully before I leave for New Zealand.

Now I doubt whether any of the pods will ripen. Oh, the deer stayed away from the fruit. But with the bulk of the leaves eaten out of the top, I don’t know whether they can ripen. We’ll see.

* * * * * * *

A dear friend used to always say “Live as if you were going to die tomorrow. Plan as if you will live forever.”

She passed away over 20 years ago from breast cancer.

* * * * * * *

“Still, once you tell her that she has to stop driving, things change.”

“I know.” He looked at me. “I got copies of your book for all four of my siblings. Told them to read it.”

“Thanks.”

“No, thank you – I don’t think any of them have really thought through how this is likely to go with Mom.”

“Every experience is different.”

“Yeah, but at least having *some* idea of what to plan for, what to watch for, will help.”

Jim Downey

*from this. Cross posted to the HFY blog.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

