Communion Of Dreams


Take a walk on the wild side.

I’m a blockhead.

No, really. Samuel Johnson’s quote establishes it beyond a doubt:

“No man but a blockhead ever wrote, except for money.”

For years I listened to people go on and on about how beneficial my writing about being a care-giver was. All the praise, the sharing, the requests to write more, to collect my writings into a book. The final result has been for Her Final Year to sell a grand total of 32 copies, after years of work and months of flogging the book. What a staggering success.

Yup, a blockhead.

Also for years now I’ve listened to countless proclamations of how incredible and valuable Ballistics By The Inch is. How it is an amazing resource for anyone interested in hard data. This has been in discussions on different forums and blogs which I have stumbled upon. And it’s reflected in the hits & usage of the site, as well, with over 8 million hits total and something on the order of 500,000 unique visitors. There’ve been plenty of people who have written me, thanking me, telling me that we should accept donations to support our work. So, for the re-launch we have done just that – added a way for people to show how much they value the site with a small donation. And in the short time we’ve had the new site up we’ve had over 5,000 unique visitors, and gotten just one donation of $10. At that rate, we’d have gotten a stunning total of $1,000 in donations since the start – it wouldn’t even cover the cost of hosting the website.

Yup, a blockhead.

My novel has been downloaded over 35,000 times in the last 5 years. People have told me they love it, that it’s brilliant and just like the classic SF of the golden era. Sometime in the next few weeks we’ll offer a self-published version of the book in hardcopy and for the Kindle. And I’m not so much a blockhead that I expect to actually sell copies of the thing. But I bet – I just bet – that somehow I’ll manage to be disappointed, nonetheless. Probably when I start getting complaints that the book is no longer free.

Screw it. I swear, I am seriously tempted to just shut down all the websites. Yup, BBTI too. Just leave a brief description of the project up with an email address where people can contact me to buy access to the data. Like the song says:

Little Joe never once gave it away
Everybody had to pay and pay
A hustle here and a hustle there
New York City’s the place where
They said hey babe, take a walk on the wild side
They said hey Joe, take a walk on the wild side

But being a blockhead, we’ll see what happens.

Jim Downey

(Cross posted to the BBTI blog.)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Distressing, about Her Final Year. I hope you are still trying for some coverage by the CBC.

Comment by Sm

[…] mentioned a month ago that I was going to be moving to self-publish Communion of Dreams. I just wanted to […]

Pingback by Perhaps . . . « Communion Of Dreams

[…] Yeah, that didn’t work. […]

Pingback by Entering Stage Five.* « Communion Of Dreams

[…] too far over the line, but I will say that there was a reason that I was feeling frustrated and angry last year about the response to my writing efforts. That reason amounted to having an income so low […]

Pingback by Turn! Turn! Turn!* « Communion Of Dreams

[…] find it hard to explain just how happy this makes me. As I had noted previously, I was very disappointed with the response to Her Final Year. Only recently have I come to understand that it was about more […]

Pingback by Taking it on faith. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

