Communion Of Dreams


Decisions, decisions.
January 12, 2012, 6:33 pm
Filed under: Art, Marketing, Promotion, Publishing, Science Fiction, Writing stuff

Take a look at the top of this blog. See that wonderful image of the McBaine Burr Oak by Peter Haigh? I’ve always loved that image, and Peter has been kind enough to grant me use of his image for my blog, for the Communion of Dreams website, and now, for the cover of the book.

So, my wife and I have gone over different cover designs, and have decided that we like the idea of having the image over the entire cover, slightly offset so that all of the trunk of the tree is on the front of the book, with the rest wrapping around. But now I would like your help in deciding the final cover design.

Below you’ll find seven different versions of the cover, titled 1 – 7. Take a look, and let me know in comments how you would rank them, in order, from favorite to least favorite. If you want to offer other thoughts or feedback, that’s OK too. I reserve the right to make the final decision, but I would really appreciate your feedback.

So, here we go:

So, there ya go. Everyone who comments/sends me an email with feedback will be entered into a drawing for a signed copy of the book. Deadline this time tomorrow.

Thanks!

Jim Downey

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great covers!
7, 4, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6

Comment by Shari Taylor

4,1,6,7,5,2.3

Comment by Kathy Brewer

5, 7, 1 are my top three. The others are pretty much tied, I guess. But I do like having the “by” omitted, and just having “James T. Downey”.

So, I guess this means there’s movement on the book? (By which I mean to say, ‘I guess I should read more blogs and fewer spreadsheets…’)

Comment by Paul

I don’t think *any* of the current font options really work, Jim.

I’ll try putting a few other options together for you in Photoshop to see if I can get something that really captures what I think would serve you best.

The more I look at this arrangement of design elements, the more it reminds me of a book cover, by the way.

Comment by Dave Schroeder

Um, thanks, Dave – but it will be one of these.

Comment by James Downey

My preference is no “by” needed, and fonts as follows: 6, 7, 2, 5, 4, 3, 1. (I’m trying to keep in mind how dated the cover may look in 20-30 years, and thinking of fonts that might minimize that.)

Comment by Ann Gunther

I like them in the following order, without the “by” if you please: 7, 5 (except not quite so much black ‘white’ space above the lettering if possible), 4, 2, 6, 3, 1.

Comment by Lyriel

1 (without “by”), 7, 4, 5, 2, 3, 6

Comment by ML

Detailed comment left on facebook. But number 7 is the most balanced and inviting image to me.

Comment by Nike

I like the first and last covers. But it’s hard to choose! I worked in graphics engineering for awhile, so I tend to think of fonts more in terms of their representation than their existential meaning,,, Love the tree and backlighting, though.

Comment by Karen Locke

I’m for #7 too.

Comment by Ken Kowalski

[…] thanks for all who weighed in on the cover design question the other day. We’re going to go with #7 – this […]

Pingback by Another question. « Communion Of Dreams

I know it’s too late, but for what it’s worth I really like #3.

Comment by Liz Soldwish-Zoole

[…] curiously, the final design of the book cover didn’t happen until this past January. That was largely due to the fact that for the longest time I was hoping to have the book […]

Pingback by Gearing up. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] written before (even recently) about the tree in the image at the top of this page. It’s locally known as […]

Pingback by 99.29% « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

