Communion Of Dreams


Another question.
January 15, 2012, 12:24 pm
Filed under: Kindle, Marketing, Promotion, Publishing, Science Fiction, Writing stuff

So, thanks for all who weighed in on the cover design question the other day. We’re going to go with a slightly modified version (dropping the “by”) of #7 – this one:

And Lyriel won the drawing for a copy of the printed book.

Now, another question for everyone, and this time I will hold a drawing from those who comments/sends me an email with feedback for a Kindle copy of the book. The question is how I should price the Kindle version?

Here are the choices, and a bit of explanation behind the strategy behind each:

  1. $7.99. This is a popular price-point for a lot of Science Fiction/Fantasy books, just from casually browsing through that category on Amazon. Yeah, there’s pricier stuff, but it is usually newer books by well-established authors. I am not well-established, and some 35,000 .pdf copies of Communion of Dreams have already been downloaded over the last 5 years. But there is also something to be said for the message of  “this is a quality book, you can tell by the price.”
  2. ***

  3. $4.99.  Another popular price-point for the genre. Gets it into the “under five bucks – why not?” category.
  4. ***

  5. $2.99.  Another pretty common price-point, particularly for a lot of much older work or stuff from unknown authors.  And at this price perhaps a lot of people who read the .pdf version in the past might say “yeah, I’m willing to pop three bucks for an updated/more Kindle-friendly copy.”

I could go lower, but that would shift the book into the ‘35% royalty’ category, which is a huge disincentive for me. It also strikes me that this is saying that I don’t value the book highly enough.

So, of those three choices, I would like to know which one you would go for. And if you would like to explain your reasoning, I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

Edited to add: Please get your comments/choices to me by noon Monday.

Jim Downey

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ll hold out for opinions on the Nook version.

Comment by Lisa

Pretend this was the Nook version, Lisa.

Comment by James Downey

Don’t go for the lowest price.

Comment by Steve Muhlberger

Can you go with $7.99 and then drop to 4.99 if sales are lackluster? I like the “this is a quality book, you can tell by the price.” argument, but if that fails, it’d be nice to fall back on the “hece, it’s only five bucks” argument. I would NOT price it at 2.99; that really suggests that you doubt the quality of your own book.

Comment by Karen Locke

My first reaction is 4.99 – a very reasonable price, and has the psychological under 5 boost. However, also agree with Karen Locke that starting at 7.99 with the option to post a sale price is n’t the worst idea in the world. Do NOT do the 2.99 thing – that gives the ‘this is schlock or very short’ message.

Comment by Liz Soldwish-Zoole

I would definitely not do the $2.99 version. I’d suggest the $4.99 – there is something about that magical $5 mark. Is it possible to provide a tiny excerpt for viewing? I think that helps sales, but if there’s an additional cost associated with it, you’d have to weigh that carefully.

P.S. Wait, there was a drawing? Yay me :).

Comment by Lyriel

Yay, indeed. You’ll need to send me a mailing address: jim@communionofdreams.com

The Kindle system allows for the first chapter to be viewed for free, and I’m also going to plug into their “Kindle Select” loaning-library system. Of course, for a very limited time yet, people can still download the .pdf files on my website . . .

Comment by James Downey

I’d say go for the 7.99 price-point if it appears to be a good standard. If you want to do a special sale later, you can offer the 4.99 (or thereabouts) as a sale price, or (if a wild hair happens) maybe a super-special anniversary 2.99 sale…tho I’m kind of leery of that.

Obviously, my experience in this area isn’t all that extensive – so take the thoughts above with a grain of salt…and good luck!

Comment by John Bourke

[…] for the feedback on how to price the Kindle version of CoD in yesterday’s post. After hearing from different people, and their […]

Pingback by Success story. « Communion Of Dreams

It’s worth much more than $7.99. I wouldn’t go lower, or it may not be taken seriously. It’s a seriously good book. If you’re not in it for the money, it doesn’t matter how many you sell at first. Over time, it will sell and sell and sell. The $7.99 price just says, “This book is worth your time.”

Comment by Ken

Too late, Ken. But I appreciate the sentiment. Feel free to send a donation to my paypal account: http://www.ballisticsbytheinch.com/donate.html

😉

Comment by James Downey




Leave a Reply

