Communion Of Dreams


Boy, howdy.
January 31, 2012, 1:41 pm
Filed under: Kindle, Marketing, NPR, Promotion, Society, Writing stuff

Heard a particularly interesting interview on NPR yesterday, as I was quietly working away in the bindery. Here’s a bit from their website about it:

In the 1940s and ’50s the message to most Americans was: Don’t be shy. And in today’s era of reality television, Twitter and widespread self-promotion, it seems that cultural mandate is in overdrive.

Boy, howdy.

Yeah, it’s about introverts, and how our culture today considers extrovertism not only the default, but that there is almost something *wrong* with you if you’re not an extrovert. As I noted yesterday, just doing the online promotion of Communion of Dreams over the weekend was psychologically exhausting for me.

Because yeah, I’m an introvert. In taking the little quiz that NPR has up, all but two of my answers clearly point to my introvert tendencies. (Any guess which two I answered the other way?*) Which makes it all that much more difficult for me to step into the limelight and demand attention from the world – even though this is exactly what is needed to be a successful author in this day and age.

Which is part of the reason why I ask people for their help. For each and every person who tells a friend about the novel (or the care-giving memoir), or who posts a review somewhere, that’s one small straw I don’t have to carry, and makes life much more enjoyable. If you’re not an introvert, this may not make a lot of sense – but believe me, it matters a great deal, and is part of the reason why I am so appreciative of any such help.

And now I need to go get some writing done. Some nice, quiet, introspective, introverted writing.

Jim Downey

*7, 20.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Nathan is decidedly shy AND introverted. He disagrees with her that shyness is about fear. For him, it’s about frustration. He tells me that he walks into every social interaction with the feeling that it’s not going to go “right” in some way–whatever he needs to communicate is not going to be communicated. He sees it as a sort of cognitive failure–he says I, the extrovert, pick up on social cues and know all the “right” things to say and the right ways to say them, where he feels he is always playing catch-up or second-guessing himself. After, say, talking to a salesperson at a help desk, he’ll walk away and begin questioning whether he really made himself understood or not. Whereas I, by comparison, walk into every social interaction sure that I will be understood before I walk away, and, once I walk away, it would never even occur to me to question what had just occurred. For him, it is not about fear at all, whereas it is stressful.

Comment by Sarah CD




Leave a Reply

