Communion Of Dreams


First question.
February 21, 2012, 2:35 pm
Filed under: Art, Guns, Heinlein, Press, Promotion, Robert A. Heinlein, Science Fiction, Writing stuff

So, last week I got a series of questions from a reporter for the local paper, who is working on a story about Communion of Dreams. I spent a lot of time thinking about my answers on my drive to and from Iowa last weekend, and have been working on writing my responses in the last day or so. And I thought that it might be fun to share both the questions, and my answers, over the next several days.

Here’s the first question/answer:

1. First off, just clue me in to the first pieces of science fiction writing that really captivated your attention. Obviously, you’ve written in quite a few different contexts – how prominent a place does science fiction writing occupy in your heart? Do you feel as if you’ve applied any of the tools or ideas gleaned from this genre to other writing projects or pursuits (or vice versa)?

I very much think that good writing is good writing, whatever the venue. As writers, we’re always looking for clarity, insight, information – to convey something we know or feel to the reader. That holds true whether I am writing about a local artist (as I did when I was writing for the Tribune), or discussing my opinion of the quality of a given firearm (as I do for Guns.com), or sharing the emotional truth of caring for a loved one (Her Final Year), or opening up the possible reality I envision in fiction. So, in essence, all of my writing is related, though perhaps my imagination has been given greater play due to my reading/writing science fiction.

In terms of what science fiction grabbed my attention when I was young . . . well, that’s really hard to say. It’s been a long time, with a lot of life in-between. I know I liked the Heinlein ‘juveniles’. Dune was an early favorite. But by the time I was in early adolescence I was voraciously reading everything in the ‘science fiction’ section of my local library, hungrily devouring book after book.

More tomorrow!

Jim Downey

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] up to yesterday’s post, here’s the second question/answer: 2. Give me the old chicken-egg breakdown as it applies […]

Pingback by #2. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] part of the ongoing series, here is today’s entry. The referenced review by ‘writercop’ is new, and if […]

Pingback by #3. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] culture, if only a minor/temporary linguistic one. Which is the topic of today’s entry in the ongoing series of interview questions: 4. In 2012, we can easily look back at previous science fiction works and […]

Pingback by 2×2.* « Communion Of Dreams

[…] in the penultimate entry of the interview Q/A series: 5. Give me a sense of both the pitfalls and encouraging moments encountered in process of […]

Pingback by V. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] to close out the question/answer series. Been an interesting experiment, but I’m unsure whether I’ll repeat it in the future, […]

Pingback by And finally: it depends. « Communion Of Dreams

[…] variety of story about Communion of Dreams this coming Sunday. This was the reason why I ran the interview Q&A series last week. I don’t yet know exactly what the nature is of the article – it could just […]

Pingback by Planning ahead. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

