Communion Of Dreams


On your mark, get set . . .

Anticipation is a good thing. I think that, particularly when you get a little older, get a little jaded, it is easy to lose a sense of excitement about something that is coming. Or perhaps not lose it, but no longer trust it. Because so very few things ever turn out like we want, or plan.

Life’s experiences, life’s disappointments, teach us this. It is hard not to be cynical, just out of simple self-preservation.

And yet . . .

And yet, I find myself looking forward with anticipation for the first bit of press attention to Communion of Dreams. Even though I already know what it says. Even though I know *exactly* how it was put together, having myself written many such columns/articles about the arts for the very same small-town paper. Even though I have had countless other articles in the press about me and the things I have done or been part of.

Why? I’m not sure.

I “believe” in the value of the book, and the story I tell. But then, I also “believed” in the value of Her Final Year, and look how completely flat that book fell on its face.

But still, I am looking forward to tomorrow’s article. To the Kindle promotion. I’ve even created a Facebook “event” for it. I guess you might say that I have “hope.”

And that reminds me of an appropriate quote:

“There is hope in dreams, imagination, and in the courage of those who wish to make those dreams a reality.”

See you tomorrow.

Jim Downey

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I find it difficult to believe that the CBC would not be interested if you found the right person. Have you harassed them sufficiently? By phone? Combed their extensive web site for potential contacts?

Comment by Steve Muhlberger

Well, I don’t really have any kind of a ‘Canadian’ connection – I don’t live there, I’m not from there, the book isn’t set there . . . well, actually, I take that back, the early part of the book *is* set there. Hmm.

To be honest I am still slowly working through the different promotional bits, and haven’t hit the CBC yet. Always the problem in doing it yourself, rather than having a large marketing department with all the resources.

In the meantime, anyone should feel free to contact them and suggest some coverage. It’s been my observation that something not from a PR flak or someone with a vested interest goes a long way . . .

Comment by James Downey

Well, I don’t really have any kind of a ‘Canadian’ connection – I don’t live there, I’m not from there, the book isn’t set there . . . well, actually, I take that back, the early part of the book *is* set there. Hmm.

To be honest I am still slowly working through the different promotional bits, and haven’t hit the CBC yet. Always the problem in doing it yourself, rather than having a large marketing department with all the resources.

In the meantime, anyone should feel free to contact them and suggest some coverage. It’s been my observation that something not from a PR flak or someone with a vested interest goes a long way . . .

Comment by James Downey

Congratulations, Jim. I think this the beginning of a beautiful momentum…

Comment by Dean Scoville

Just wait, Dean – we’re gonna quote you on the CoD homepage.

No, I’m not kidding. 😉

Comment by James Downey

[…] Anticipation no more: the day is here, the article posted. Here’s how it starts: The future, it has been said, is unwritten. […]

Pingback by . . . go! « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

