Communion Of Dreams


Brief interlude.

A break in the travelogs to share a couple items of interest…

Got a very nice email yesterday from someone who had just read Communion of Dreams. He specifically said that I could use excerpts from his email, so here’s a bit I wanted to share:

So many of the elements in the story gel it together almost seamlessly. One thing that I feel was expertly crafted, was the balance between informing the reader about back story, history, and some subplot, but not revealing the whole story of it. The most stand out example is the fire-flu. The story is briefly mentioned several times, and gets the reader thinking, and the gear turning. It is immediate and real, and leads one to wonder what is going on behind the scenes. It generates this feeling fullness and leads to a sense of wonderment (which is paramount in novels, and very hard to craft). As I read, I constantly wanted to know more about the fire-flu, what actually happened. Who experienced what, and how. It could have been an entire story in and of itself. It’s a subtle thing, but it makes or breaks a story in my opinion. Give a taste and leave one wanting more. The character development was also quite good. Human psychology was extremely accurate, and I sensed almost no errors or impossible traits present in anyone. It leads to a very real understanding and connectedness with the characters.

I *do* appreciate getting such feedback. Particularly as I am gearing up to write the prequel. Formal reviews and ratings on Amazon are also very welcome, and will help others decide for themselves whether or not they want to read the book.

Speaking of writing the prequel, as I mentioned the other day I am also working to put together a Kickstarter campaign. Most of the elements of this are things I or my wife can do. But one thing I need help with is in producing a short video explaining what the campaign is and why I think it is worthy of support from the Kickstarter community. So I’m looking for someone who has good video production skills and something of an artistic sensibility. If you are such a person, and would be interested in working with me on this project, please leave a comment or drop me a note ( jim@communionofdreams.com ).

OK, back to working on the next travelog. Hope to have it available later today.

Jim Downey

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

