Communion Of Dreams


Piece by piece…

As I keep discussing, I’m working through multiple small components of getting ready to launch a Kickstarter for the next novel. I’ve got two things to mention today.

The first is a request for some help. Part of the normal Kickstarter project is to have a video. As they put it on their website:

A video is by far the best way to get a feel for the emotions, motivations, and character of a project. It’s a demonstration of effort and a good predictor of success. Projects with videos succeed at a much higher rate than those without (50% vs. 30%).

Now, I’m sure that my wife and I can cobble something together which would vaguely meet the “have a video” criteria for the project page. But I would really prefer to have something decent. Something original. Something put together by someone who has more than a vague idea of what they’re doing.

If you are such a person, or if you *know* such a person, and would be interested in working with me on this, please leave a comment or send me an email. And note that I say “working with me” rather than “do this for me” — for the very simple reason that I respect the artistic talents of others and see this as a collaboration rather than just a technical problem to turn over to someone else. And I’m not asking for someone to do it for just “exposure” either — compensation will be offered, and we can work out an equitable arrangement. Please think about it, and get back to me soonish.

The other item I want to mention today is that we’ve given my bookbinding website something of a facelift, updating information on it, modernizing the look & operation a bit. Check it out when you get a chance.

What does this have to do with a Kickstarter project for St. Cybi’s Well?

Well, I’m glad you asked. It has something to do with St. Cybi’s Well because some of the premiums for pledges to my Kickstarter will include hand-bound copies of the book. As well as hand-bound copies of Communion of Dreams. In hardcover. In hardcover covered with premium bookcloth. Or full calfskin leather. Or even in full goatskin leather.

These will be very rare, possibly unique books. And how many other writers that you know have my professional bookbinding skills?

*That’s* why we updated the Legacy website. To show off my bookbinding talents a bit. Well, and because I’ve added a photo series of restoring a 1633 Danish bible that was a lot of fun earlier this year and I wanted to share that.

So, two more pieces of the puzzle start to fall into place.

Jim Downey

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well, I’m in. I showed this to a buddy (who I sent a copy of your book to) and he’ll sign up for kickstarter just to back your project. How long do we have to wait? And you know I’m up for helping with the video if you’d like.

Comment by Kyle (@Agmarr)

Well, thanks! It won’t be long – we’ll launch the Kickstarter as soon as everything’s ready – hopefully next month.

As to help with the video – I’ll send an email!

Thanks, again!

Comment by James Downey

[…] Part of this is establishing “rewards” for promised funding from backers. Usually this includes a copy of a book or album or artwork which is the reason for the Kickstarter project, but people also include all manner of other items which are more personal. I mentioned earlier that one of the things I was going to be offering would be hand-bound copies of my books, bringing into the mix my bookbinding skills. […]

Pingback by How very rewarding. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

