Communion Of Dreams


With a Little Help from My Friends*

 

 

What would you do if I sang out of tune,
Would you stand up and walk out on me.

You’d certainly be entitled to do so, though my wife assures me that my singing isn’t nearly as bad as I usually make it out to be.

The truth is, singing is something I have always wanted to avoid, because it generally implies a public performance aspect. And, frankly, I find that frightening enough that I usually try and limit it to things I feel more confident about.

 

Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song,
And I’ll try not to sing out of key.

This is key: pleasing an audience.

That doesn’t mean always giving them what they want. Rather, I think, it means satisfying them that you have given them fair value. For their time. Perhaps for their money.

Long ago I learned that no matter what, you can never please everyone. But if you set your goal that you give them fair value — an honest effort, based in real training and preparation, generally people will be satisfied. I *haven’t* spent time learning to sing, or play an instrument, so I don’t offer those things to an audience with any expectation that they will pay any attention to me. I *have* spent a lot of time and put a lot of effort into trying to learn to write, so I am comfortable in offering my words in a public transaction of fair value.

 

Oh I get by with a little help from my friends,
Mmm,I get high with a little help from my friends,
Mmm, I’m gonna try with a little help from my friends.

We’re in the closing hours of the Kickstarter for St. Cybi’s Well. It’ll end tomorrow evening.

And I don’t know whether it will achieve the funding goal. Right now, it doesn’t look promising.

But that doesn’t mean it would be a failure. Hardly. For each and every person who has stepped forward and made a pledge to back the Kickstarter, that is an affirmation that my efforts at writing have been judged successful. That means more to me than I can ever convey.

Thank you.

Jim Downey

*Yes, The Beatles. Though Joe Cocker also did a great cover of it. And thanks to my friend ML who suggested this song a couple days ago in a comment. And remember, tomorrow Communion of Dreams will be free for download all day – spread the word.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] if you were intending on helping promote the Kickstarter today, and touting Communion of Dreams being available for free as part of that […]

Pingback by Bad timing. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

