Communion Of Dreams


We are men of action, lies do not become us.*

We’re all adults here. Let’s be frank: unless something fairly remarkable and unlikely to the point of ridiculous happens, the Kickstarter isn’t going to succeed.

And that’s OK.

Seriously, it was a good effort, and I’ve learned a fair amount from the experience. I still think that Kickstarter is a worthwhile model, and I intend to continue to support other projects on it in the future. Who knows, at some point I may attempt to do another project myself.

But for now, it is time to draw some conclusions about the current project and move on.

First and foremost, as I’ve said all along I greatly appreciate all those who tangibly showed their support for my writing with backing the Kickstarter. Really, folks, that means a hell of a lot to me.

Next: because of the way Kickstarter is structured, I had some minor problems setting up my project the way I would have wanted. I accepted these limitations and have no regrets, but I think that it made for a weaker presentation that I initially planned. I may get more into the nuts & bolts of this in the future.  I may not.

But if come 9:00 PM this evening the Kickstarter hasn’t been funded, then I am no longer bound by those limitations. And in the coming days you’ll see some big changes on the Communion of Dreams and St. Cybi’s Well websites. I’m not going to get into all the changes now, but you’ll see options to order an advance copy of the new novel at an attractive discount. And ways you can reserve one of a very limited edition run of both Communion of Dreams and St. Cybi’s Well and have those books bound the way you want — even reserving your edition number on a first come, first served basis. With payment plan options. Some of the higher-end premium ‘rewards’ will still be available, as well.

So, it’s been a fun experiment, and I again say thanks to all who came along for the ride. But there’s more than one way reach my goal, and I think this other path will offer some interesting advantages. I hope at least some of you will agree.

Cheers!

Jim Downey

*Of course. And since YouTube didn’t have a clip of the scene that quote comes from, have some appropriate music instead.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m excited at the new possibilities Jim!

Comment by Ken Kowalski

Actually, so am I. Should have more info posted in a day or two.

Comment by James Downey

Timing may have a lot to do with it. Several causes that mean a great deal to me — including election campaigns and public broadcasting pledge drives — have been soliciting me daily for weeks. I’m sure I’m not the only person feeling donation fatigue.

Comment by Robin Netherton

Yeah, that’s probably part of it as well. But there’s never a good time, in some sense: if I waited another month to launch, then we’re getting close to the holidays. If I waited three months, then it’s just after the holidays when people are feeling broke. If six months, then it’s just before taxes are due …

No worries.

Comment by James Downey

$2k to go dude. That’s impressive with about an hour left.

Comment by Kyle (@Agmarr)

[…] honestly did not expect this, as I think my earlier post today indicated. Frankly, I was completely gobsmacked when it happened. Still am, to a certain […]

Pingback by I’ll be damned… « Communion Of Dreams

[…] Still, I thought I would offer a heads-up on what is in store. As I noted the other day: […]

Pingback by In the works. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

