Communion Of Dreams


Not exactly ‘The Prisoner’, but …

A small excerpt from the current chapter I’m writing:

“Explain,” said Darnell.

“Simple: however hostile you are to the government, you still love your country and don’t want to see it harmed,” said Smith.

“We’re not asking you to do anything in support of the government,” added Jones. “However, if you hear of something which might be a threat to the people of America, please let us know.”

Darnell sipped his wine, looked out over the estuary below the terrace. The image of Patrick McGoohan racing across the sand flats, trying to get away, came to him. He looked up. “Hear something? Why should I hear something?”

Why yes, that scene is set in Portmeirion. 🙂

The writing continues to go well, though I occasionally have small crises of confidence, panic attacks over the thought that I have anything to say. Ah, well, it’s part of the process, and you just have to set those fears aside and get on with the story as best you can. I think that this is where my training and work as a book conservator comes in handy — I understand tackling jobs which at first seem to be too much, to be beyond my skill level. Because when you break them down into small steps, they’re manageable. I don’t have to write the whole novel; I just have to write the next scene.

 

Jim Downey

PS: Completely unrelated, but do yourself a favor — go read this, and watch the embedded video. Trust me.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] week. A touch of the winter blahs. The mild feeling that I get in the middle of any project that I have bitten off more than I can chew and that I’m going to fail […]

Pingback by Before & after. | Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

