Communion Of Dreams


Applied tech.

Sorry for a bit of absence – I came down with an annoying cold over the weekend, and needed to devote my energy to getting past that.

Anyway, remember last time I mentioned a technology change I introduced into the Prelude of St Cybi’s Well? Well, now I have worked through the rest of the book, applying that change where appropriate, until I got back to where I am currently writing. And I thought I would share the following passage, so you can get a sense of how the tech works:

“See it?” asked Eleazar.

Darnell shook his head, but peered closer where Eleazar pointed. He could see something faint on the rock, but couldn’t make the image resolve. So he took out his hand-held, removed the stylus. Pointing the stylus camera and the flash on the phone at the image, he tapped an icon on the screen. There were a series of quick flashes, and the screen filled with a close-up of the stone face. Eleazar looked on with some amusement as Darnell used a slider at the bottom of the screen to go up and down the spectrum, changing the image and bringing out details otherwise hidden in it. Darnell glanced up at Eleazar, saw his amusement, and explained “Multispectral imaging. Not nearly the resolution or range of real remote sensing equipment, but handy for some things.”

“Particularly when you’re going blind, eh?”

“Yeah. And until I can find my miracle, this helps.” Darnell smiled slightly, a wry, almost sad smile. “But the range of the image is well beyond what even good human sight can see – what even you can see.”

“I already know what is there,” said Eleazar.

“Well, now so do I,” said Darnell, pausing in his manipulation of the image and holding up the screen. On it was a cup. An old cup, like an ancient chalice, clearly visible on the menhir face.

 

Back to it.

 

Jim Downey

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] this from a post a couple months […]

Pingback by Vast vision must improve our sight.* | Communion Of Dreams

[…] Yeah, I mentioned using this kind of imaging tech in the current novel some time back. […]

Pingback by Bits & pieces. | Communion Of Dreams




Leave a Reply

