Communion Of Dreams


The power to forgive.

As I have said previously:

… I have tried my very best to forget him. It was that, or succumb to the hatred that threatened to define my life.

For a while I tried forgiveness, since that is supposed to be liberating. When I say “for a while,” I mean for years. But I failed. There are some things that cannot be forgiven, at least for me.

 

Others are, perhaps, better than I:

During an emotional courtroom scene, family members of some of the victims gave statements, many saying they forgave the shooter and calling on him to repent his sins.

“I just wanted everybody to know, to you, I forgive you,” a daughter of Ethel Lance, 70, one of the nine people killed at Emanuel AME church on Wednesday night said. “You took something very precious away from me.

“You hurt me. You hurt a lot of people. But I forgive you. I forgive you,” she said.

 

That is a power which baffles me, bewilders me, but also leaves me in quiet awe. Good for them.

 

Jim Downey

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

To me it seems distinctly fuzzy-headed, a bit TOO christiany. Mourning itself takes two years or more. Leaping in and saying “I forgive you” almost before the funerals are over strikes me as goddy posturing. “Look how good a Christian I am.”

No. Some things are unforgivable.

I’m also not WHOLLY on board with the implications about how he had a bad childhood, etc. It’s good to understand that stuff, but you still have to judge the act itself.

Comment by Hank Fox




Leave a Reply

