Communion Of Dreams


Yet ANOTHER update.
February 5, 2008, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Alzheimer's, Health, Hospice, Predictions, Preparedness, Sleep

OK, I shouldn’t be flip about this.

But my MIL continues to astonish. As noted previously, the woman is very strong. Our hospice nurse all but said (and this is no criticism of her or her judgement) that my MIL would likely pass last night. But she made it through. And through the morning. And through the afternoon. Late afternoon another nurse (our usual is off today) called from hospice to see what was going on – and whether we needed any help, supplies, et cetera. The hospice people have been great.

Anyway, my MIL is still hanging in there. She’s weaker, her breathing continues to deteriorate, she’s in a deeper coma than I mentioned earlier, and her fever is now 5 degrees above normal. But she is still fighting. It isn’t necessarily what I would have chosen for her, but my respect for her has stepped up another notch.

So, predictions be damned. We’re just sticking in there with her for as long as she’s with us.

Jim Downey


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] our book, and previous to that my blog: Anyway, Martha Sr is still hanging in there. She’s weaker, her breathing continues to […]

Pingback by What matters. « Communion Of Dreams




Leave a comment